Pattern Testing – Robson Coat

IMG_0864

I love this coat. I wasn’t sure I would, since a trench coat really hasn’t ever been on the list of things I want to sew. But now that the coat is finished I’m just dying for the weather to warm up a little so I can wear it!

IMG_0866

The Robson Trench Coat is the latest Sewaholic pattern, and it does not disappoint. I was a little intimidated about sewing this, as coats in general are not something I have lots of sewing experience with. But I shouldn’t have been worried. The instructions were great and the coat went together smoothly. It looks more complicated than it actually is.

IMG_0872

One of the hardest parts was forcing myself to slow down and take my time on the top-stitching. There is quite a lot of it, and it’s worth taking the time to make the top-stitching look really good. While I don’t know exactly how long the project took me, I do know that it breaks down into smaller tasks very well. The whole thing was put together in chunks of time an hour and a half or less. My sewing time these days is limited to naps and after kiddo goes to bed.

IMG_0875

The fabric is a really nice navy blue nylon/cotton blend. I think. It’s actually out of my mother’s fabric stash, and neither of us are positive on the content. Regardless, it looks nice as a trench coat. The only downside is that the fabric is a magnet for dust and cat hair. And navy blue is a pain to photograph, but that’s beside the point.

I used 1″ buttons on the front and back of the coat, and 3/4″ buttons on the sleeves and shoulders. Not a design choice exactly, it’s just that my fabric store didn’t have enough of either size to be consistent throughout. The seams are all finished with purchased bias binding. It was simply faster to use the purchased stuff (as opposed to making my own), and I like the look of the contrasting color. Actually, I was a little short on the binding, so one armhole is bound in a different shade of blue. I’m going to call that a design feature. I bought four packs of binding and would have bought five if the store had them.

IMG_0874

The only alteration I made to the pattern was to lengthen the sleeves about an inch. And that’s just because I have gorilla arms and prefer my sleeves on the longer side.

IMG_0870

This is a great pattern for a classic wardrobe item. I doubt I’ll make it again any time soon (after all, how many trench coats does one need?), but I’m thrilled to have made this version. I expect this coat will be getting lots of wear this spring!

19 thoughts on “Pattern Testing – Robson Coat

      1. pluno Post author

        I did! As I’m brand new to blogging, I’m pretty sure that’s the reason I’m getting any traffic at all 🙂 I love seeing the other trench coats. That gorgeous lace version is enough to make me want to sew another coat!

  1. lecsmiscellany

    Your coat looks amazing! And I can tell you really took your time with the topstitching, it is perfect! I love how classic it looks, and the navy fabric was a great choice. Enjoy your coat and thanks for sharing.

    (Looking forward to reading your blog! 🙂 )

    Reply
  2. kaitui_kiwi

    I finally posted up my pattern tested Robson coat so I am on the lookout for more pattern testers and found you 🙂

    Love the pop of blue bias inside your coat. I think it looks great on you too, trench coats are a good wardrobe staple and black is so timeless I think you’ll wear that coat for a long time 🙂

    Reply
    1. pluno Post author

      Thanks! I’m pretty excited about the coat. It’s great to hear from another pattern tester. I’ll have to check out your review too!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Stashbusting! | poofytail

    1. pluno Post author

      It’s a great pattern. I’m really looking forward to seeing some more Robson coats – it’s so interesting to see the different styles everyone makes.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: An Exciting Week | hamiltonchicklets

  5. Pingback: Pattern Testing – Saltspring Dress | poofytail

  6. thewallinna

    Hi! I am about to sew a trench coat (bot Robson coat though) and found your blog when looking for inspirations. The whole topstitching was so worth it! I also like the look of your coast from the inside. Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

