Me-Made-May Week 1

This is my first time participating in Me-Made-May and so far I love it. The challenge is forcing me to think a little more about what I have to wear and what I’d like to sew, and it’s already inspired me to dig out some old me-mades and modify one of them to be more wearable.

IMG_1551

Day 1 Me-mades: Long sleeved raglan t-shirt (Stretch & Sew #205), me-modified nursing camisole

It’s snowing here. Again. And apparently one of the holes in my me-made wardrobe is colder weather clothing. I found my options for getting dressed this morning a little limited.

The shirt is pretty old – I think maybe from the early 2000’s? Can’t recall. The pattern is the long sleeve version of Stretch & Sew 205. The fabric is some sort of lightweight knit, though not one with a ton of stretch. I like the shirt well enough, although I made it in the days before I started putting neckbands and hembands on most of my shirt, so looking at it now the finish seems a little rough. The modified nursing cami is hidden under the shirt. It’s not something I’ve blogged about, but I’ve made/modified several of these so far and wear them all the time. I should probably write something explaining what the heck a modified nursing cami is.

Good thing I don't take myself too seriously...

Good thing I don’t take myself too seriously…

Day 2 Me-mades: Ariadne tunic, modified nursing cami

While this picture doesn’t do much for it, the Ariadne tunic pattern by Tanit-Isis is fantastic. I made a few of these last year while I was pregnant. I loved making something with enough ease that I could get away with wearing it for a good chunk of my pregnancy, enough length to hide my maternity jeans, and it would still be wearable and look good after I had my son. The only thing I changed from the pattern was to omit the keyhole in the back, and to use one size larger for the hem band, to accommodate my hips.

IMG_1605Day 3 Me-Mades: Renfrew top (not yet blogged about)

I’m probably one of the last people on the internet to try out Sewaholic’s Renfrew pattern. Too bad I waited so long, as I really like it. This is the first one I’ve made, and I’ve since made a few minor modifications that I’ll post about soon.

May 4-four

Day 4 Me Mades: Kimono sleeve t-shirt, modified nursing cami

Another t-shirt. Nothing terribly exciting today, except for my awesome lime green converse. Yes, I love my shoes.

IMG_1618Day 5 Me Mades: Knockoff GAP t-shirt, Short sleeved raglan t-shirt (Stretch & Sew #205)

I started the day in one of my knockoff GAP t-shirts (as of yet not blogged about), but my son managed to spit-up on me before I took a picture of it. So, onto the next me-made shirt. The one pictured is what I spent the rest of the day in. It’s another raglan from one of my favorite patterns. I’m not sure I love the fabric though. It’s certainly comfortable, but the print is a little off from what I normally gravitate to. I may just need to warm up to it a little more.

IMG_1628Day 6 Me Mades: Stripey shirt

This shirt is so old I don’t even remember what pattern I used. Probably a Stretch & Sew pattern, if I had to guess. It actually had long sleeves up until Sunday evening. I finally realized that the sleeve length paired with the very lightweight knit is what had kept me from wearing it much. I shortened the sleeves and finished the cuffs with bands made from the bit of cut-off sleeves. It’s amazing what a difference that made. I actually like this shirt again! Which is good, because it’s just been taking up drawer space for several years now.

IMG_1642Day 7 Me-Mades: Knockoff GAP t-shirt, modified nursing cami

This is the “whoops, I forgot to take a photo until nighttime” picture. I’ve got four or five t-shirts made from my knockoff pattern. For a while it was my go-to t-shirt pattern. This version is out of a very soft drapey rayon blend knit. Doesn’t wear great (the shirt is already pilling a bit), but it feels wonderful.

So one week down, and I think the only me-made things I’ve worn are t-shirts and camisoles. Perhaps I should consider varying my wardrobe a bit more. I actually do have some me-made dresses, skirts, trousers, and jackets. I just don’t seem to wear them as much. Well, and there are still quite a few things in my closet that don’t fit my post-baby body. Might be time for some refashioning and new sewing.

2 thoughts on “Me-Made-May Week 1

  1. Pingback: One Renfrew, Two Renfrew | poofytail

  2. Pingback: Me-Made-May …the rest of the month | poofytail

Leave a Reply

