Me-Made-May Week 2

I’m a little late getting this posted. But better late than never, here’s week two.

IMG_1648Day 8 Me-Mades: Stripey Renfrew

New top! Which I’ve already worn three times since making it. Sigh. Must make a few more.

Carolyn May 9-fourDay 9 Me-Mades: Twisty Top

One of my dressy t-shirts. Yes, t-shirts can be dressy. I wish I could claim the jacket as a me-made, but it’s actually from Kohl’s. I love it though, and wear it all the time. I think I need to either make a pattern off it, or find a pattern for something similar.

IMG_1793Day 10 Me-Mades: Knockoff GAP t-shirt

This Friday’s theme is “Sewing, Knitting, Creating Space”. So here’s a little corner of my studio. The rest of the room is too much of a disaster zone to photograph right now, but this is my favorite corner anyway. On the wall above my sewing machine is a picture of my son when he was 1 day old, and my awesome giant wood scissors. Best yard sale find ever. Oh, and the shirt, which is really hard to make out in this photo is a another of my Knockoff GAP t-shirts made in a washed out grayish camo print.

IMG_1605Day 11 Me-Mades: Stripey Renfrew

I actually didn’t get around to taking a photo today. But since my outfit is exactly the same as day three, I’m just reusing that picture.

DSCN1538Day 12 Me -Mades: Kimono sleeve t-shirt, modified nursing cami

Again, duplicate outfit. But I did actually get a new picture. With my mom and my son. Seeing as it’s Mother’s Day and all… The onesie with the necktie that kiddo is wearing is my mom’s work. She added the sleeves and the tie to a plain white onesie.

IMG_1771Day 13 Me-Mades: Ariadne tunic

I realize now that all three of my Ariadne tunic tops are made up in very busy prints that make it nearly impossible to actually see the design of the shirt. One of these days I might get around to making one in a solid fabric.

IMG_1782Day 14 Me-Mades:Knockoff GAP t-shirt

This is how I look when I’ve been pulling weeds for the last hour, in the sun, in 80+ degree weather. That smile is forced. But hey, at least the t-shirt is comfy.

And there we go, week two. Not very exciting. But I am enjoying the challenge. Even if I do just live in jeans and t-shirts 90 percent of the time, there’s still something very satisfying about knowing that I made at least one thing I’m wearing every single day. Also, I’m starting to feel much less attached to a good portion of my purchased clothes. There may be a closet purge coming up in my near future.

Leave a Reply

